Nearly 200 UChicago Medicine, UChicago Medicine Medical Group and Comer Children's physicians named to Chicago magazine's 2024 Top Docs list

Center for Care and Discovery

Nearly 200 University of Chicago Medicine and UChicago Medicine Medical Group physicians were named to Chicago magazine's 2024 Top Docs list.

The list includes 196 UChicago Medicine, UChicago Medicine Medical Group and Comer Children's Hospital doctors from 54 different specialties.

These physicians were nominated by their peers for clinical excellence, bedside manner, education and board certification. The nominations were then analyzed by research company Castle Connolly Top Doctors, and the results were published in Chicago magazine's January 2024 issue.

The Top Docs recipients from UChicago Medicine, UChicago Medicine Medical Group and Comer Children's Hospital are:

Primary Care

Family Medicine

Paulo A. Aranas, MD

Geriatric Medicine

Stacie Levine, MD

Internal Medicine

Jennifer L. Angeles, MD

George L. Bakris, MD

Deborah Burnet, MD

Adam Cifu, MD

Kamala G. Cotts, MD

Shannon Martin, MD


Gynecologic Oncology 

Nita Karnik Lee, MD, MPH

Ernst R. Lengyel, MD, PhD

Kathryn Mills, MD

Adekunle O. Odunsi, MD, PhD

S. Diane Yamada, MD

Medical Oncology

Christine Bestvina, MD

Michael R. Bishop, MD

Christopher K. Daugherty, MD

Gini F. Fleming, MD

Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD

Olwen M. Hahn, MD

Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD

Hedy Lee Kindler, MD

Justin Kline, MD

Satyajit Kosuri, MD

Chih-Yi Liao, MD

Rita Nanda, MD

Olatoyosi Odenike, MD

Peter Hugh O’Donnell, MD

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD

Blase Polite, MD

Mark J. Ratain, MD

Peter Riedell, MD

Ardaman Shergill, MD

Sonali M. Smith, MD

Walter M. Stadler, MD

Russell Szmulewitz, MD

Everett E. Vokes, MD

James A. Wallace, MD*

Radiation Oncology 

Steven J. Chmura, MD, PhD

Philip Paul Connell, MD

Howard J. Halpern, MD, PhD

Daniel James Haraf, MD

Yasmin Hasan, MD

Stanley Liauw, MD


Cardiovascular Disease

Michael Davidson, MD

Jeanne DeCara, MD

Sara Kalantari, MD

Roberto M. Lang, MD

Matthew Sorrentino, MD

R. Parker Ward, MD

Interventional Cardiology 

Sandeep Nathan, MD, MS

Jonathan D. Paul, MD

Atman P. Shah, MD

Cosmetic Surgery and Skin


Victoria H. Barbosa, MD

Diana Bolotin, MD, PhD

Mark D. Hoffman, MD

Arlene Ruiz de Luzuriaga, MD, MPH, MBA

Christopher Richard Shea, MD

Facial Plastic Surgery / Otolaryngology

Anil Shah, MD

Plastic Surgery

Bruce Samuel Bauer, MD

David W. Chang, MD

Lawrence J. Gottlieb, MD

Mental Health

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Karam Radwan, MD

Other Psychiatry

Jon Edgar Grant, MD

Marie Tobin, MD

Daniel Yohanna, MD


Neurological Surgery

Edwin Ramos, MD


James R. Brorson, MD

Christopher M. Gomez, MD, PhD

Adil Javed, MD, PhD

Thomas J. Kelly, MD

Richard Kraig, MD, PhD

James A. Mastrianni, MD, PhD

Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS

Anthony T. Reder, MD

Raymond Roos, MD

Organ and Glands

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism 

Ronald N. Cohen, MD

David A. Ehrmann, MD

Louis H. Philipson, MD, PhD

David H. Sarne, MD


Russell D. Cohen, MD

K. Gautham Reddy, MD

Mary E. Rinella, MD

David T. Rubin, MD

Carol E. Semrad, MD

Uzma D. Siddiqui, MD

Helen S. Te, MD


Mary S. Hammes, DO


Michael P. Blair, MD

Seenu M. Hariprasad, MD

James J. Reidy, MD

Sarah H. Rodriguez, MD, MPH


Nishant Agrawal, MD

Elizabeth Astin Blair, MD

Michael B. Gluth, MD

Jayant Pinto, MD

Louis de Guzman Portugal, MD

Christopher R. Roxbury, MD

Andrea Shogan, MD

Pulmonary Disease

D. Kyle Hogarth, MD

Renea Jablonski, MD

John P. Kress, MD

Edward T. Naureckas, MD

Christopher Sola Olopade, MD, MPH

Mary E. Strek, MD


Scott Eggener, MD

Arieh L. Shalhav, MD

Gregory P. Zagaja, MD


Hand Surgery

Jennifer M. Wolf, MD, PhD

Orthopedic Surgery

Rex Haydon, MD, PhD

George Miz, MD*

Sherwin S.W. Ho, MD

Christopher M. Sullivan, MD, MPH


Child Neurology

Emily Doll, MD

Carol Macmillan, MD

James Tonsgard, MD

Developmental / Behavioral Pediatrics

Michael Msall, MD

Pediatric Cardiology 

Michael Earing, MD

Abraham Groner, MD

Stephen Pophal, MD

Paula E. Williams, MD, MS

Pediatric Dermatology

Sarah L. Stein, MD

Pediatric Endocrinology

Dianne Deplewski, MD

Siri Atma W. Greeley, MD, PhD

Raghavendra G. Mirmira, MD, PhD

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Ruba Azzam, MD, MPH

Timothy A.S. Sentongo, MD

Pediatric Hematology and Oncology

Eric C. Beyer, MD, PhD

Susan L. Cohn, MD

John M. Cunningham, MD

Jill de Jong, MD, PhD

Tara Henderson, MD, MPH

James LaBelle, MD, PhD

Radhika Peddinti, MD

Samuel L. Volchenboum, MD, PhD, MS

Pediatric Infectious Disease

Barbara Hendrickson, MD

Pediatric Otolaryngology

Fuad M. Baroody, MD

Dana Suskind, MD

Pediatric Rheumatology

Melissa S. Tesher, MD

Linda Wagner-Weiner, MD, MS

Pediatric Surgery

Marion C.W. Henry, MD, MPH

Jessica J. Kandel, MD

Thomas K. Lee, MD

Grace Z. Mak, MD

Manish Raiji, MD

Pediatric Urology

Mohan S. Gundeti, MD


Diagnostic Radiology

Paul J. Chang, MD

Abraham H. Dachman, MD

Gregory S. Stacy, MD

Nuclear Medicine 

Daniel Appelbaum, MD

Vascular and Interventional Radiology

Brian Funaki, MD

Jonathan M. Lorenz, MD

Thuong G. Van Ha, MD


Thoracic and Cardiac Surgery

Husam Balkhy, MD

Jessica S. Donington, MD, MSCR

Mark K. Ferguson, MD

Valluvan Jeevanandam, MD

Vascular Surgery

Chelsea Dorsey, MD

Ross Milner, MD

Christopher Skelly, MD

Other Surgery

John C. Alverdy, MD

Peter Angelos, MD, PhD

John J. Fung, MD, PhD

Roger D. Hurst, MD

Nora Jaskowiak, MD

John C. LaMattina, MD

Jeffrey B. Matthews, MD

J. Michael Millis, MD

Mitchell C. Posner, MD

Piotr Witkowski, MD, PhD

Women's Health

Maternal and Fetal Medicine

Sarosh Rana, MD, MPH

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Monica Christmas, MD

Laura A. Douglass, MD

Catherine Harth, MD

Stacy T. Lindau, MD, MA

Kenneth J. Nunes, MD

Katherine Rivlin, MD

Iris Romero, MD, MS

Maryam Siddiqui, MD

Shari G. Snow, MD

Reproductive Endocrinology / Infertility

Sana M. Salih, MD, MS

Alberuni M. Zamah, MD

Urogynecology / Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery 

Kimberly S. Kenton, MD, MS

Juraj Letko, MD

Sandra Valaitis, MD

Other Specialities 

Allergy and Immunology

Christina E. Ciaccio, MD, MSc

Steve W. Handoyo, MD

Clinical Genetics 

Darrel J. Waggoner, MD


Richard A. Larson, MD

Wendy Stock, MD

Michael J. Thirman, MD

Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Monica Catherine Malec, MD

Infectious Disease

Stephen Weber, MD

Pain Medicine 

Magdalena Anitescu, MD, PhD


Daniel A. Arber, MD

Anthony Chang, MD

John A. Hart, MD

All licensed physicians in any specialty can be nominated. Castle Connolly’s physician-led team of researchers thoroughly vets each nominee’s professional qualifications, education, hospital and faculty appointments, interpersonal skills, research leadership, professional reputation and disciplinary history.

Physicians who provide services at Ingalls Memorial Hospital are independent physicians with privileges at the hospital. Independent physicians are not employees or agents of Ingalls Memorial Hospital, the University of Chicago, or the University of Chicago Medical Center.