175 UChicago Medicine doctors named to 2021 "Top Docs" list

DCAM Building

More than 170 University of Chicago Medicine and University of Chicago Medicine Comer Children's physicians are recognized for being at the forefront in their fields in Chicago magazine's Top Doctors and Top Doctors for Moms and Kids lists of 2021.

While these lists don't include all types of medicine, they do highlight surgeons and doctors treating cancer, digestive diseases, neurology, pediatrics, obstetrics and other specialties.

The Chicago-area doctors named were selected by their peers and through consideration of factors such as clinical excellence, bedside manner, education and board certification. Data are collected and analyzed by the research company Castle Connolly Medical.

Allergy & Immunology

Christina E. Ciaccio, MD, MSc

Steve W. Handoyo, MD

Anesthesia & Pain Medicine

Magdalena Anitescu, MD, PhD

Clinical Genetics

Darrel J. Waggoner, MD


Victoria H. Barbosa, MD

Diana Bolotin, MD, PhD

Arlene Ruiz de Luzuriaga, MD

Christopher R. Shea, MD

Dermatology Surgery

Diana Bolotin, MD, PhD

Diagnostic Radiology

Paul J. Chang, MD

Abraham H. Dachman, MD

Jeffrey A. Leef, MD

Gregory S. Stacy, MD

Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism

George L. Bakris, MD

Ronald N. Cohen, MD

David A. Ehrmann, MD

Louis H. Phillipson, MD, PhD

David H. Sarne, MD

Tamara J. Vokes, MD


Russell D. Cohen, MD

Ira M. Hanan, MD

David T. Rubin, MD

Carol E. Semrad, MD

Helen S. Te, MD

Irving Waxman, MD

Geriatric Medicine

Stacie Levine, MD

Gynecologic Oncology

Nita Karnik Lee, MD

Ernst Lengyel, MD, PhD

S. Diane Yamada, MD


Richard A. Larson, MD

Hongtao Liu, MD, PhD

Wendy Stock, MD

Michael J. Thirman, MD

Hospice & Palliative Medicine

Monica Malec, MD

Infectious Diseases

Jean-Luc Benoit, MD

Kathleen Mullane, DO, PharmD

David Pitrak, MD

Kenneth Pursell, MD

Stephen Weber, MD

Internal Medicine

Diane Altkorn, MD

Deborah Burnet, MD

Kamala G. Cotts, MD

Mindy Schwartz, MD

Monica B. Vela, MD

Medical Oncology

Michael Bishop, MD

Simona Chivu, MD (Silver Cross)

Christopher K. Daugherty, MD

Gini F. Fleming, MD

Thomas F. Gajewski, MD, PhD

Lucy Godley, MD, PhD

Olwen Hahn, MD

Philip C. Hoffman, MD

Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD

Hedy Lee Kindler, MD

Justin Kline, MD

Rita Nanda, MD

Olatoyosi Odenike, MD

Peter H. O'Donnell, MD

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD

Blase Polite, MD

Mark J. Ratain, MD

Sonali M. Smith, MD

Walter M. Stadler, MD

Russell Szmulewitz, MD

Everett E. Vokes, MD

James A. Wallace, MD

Nuclear Medicine

Daniel Appelbaum, MD


Mary S. Hammes, DO


James R. Brorson, MD

Adil Javed, MD, PhD

Thomas J. Kelly, MD

Richard P. Kraig, MD

James A. Mastrianni, MD

Shyam Prabhakaran, MD

Anthony T. Reder, MD

Raymond Roos, MD

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Anita K. Blanchard, MD

Monica Christmas, MD

Catherine Harth, MD

Stacy Tessler Lindau, MD, MA

Ken Nunes, MD

Maryam Siddiqui, MD

Orthopedic Surgery

Douglas R Dirschl, MD

Rex Haydon, MD, PhD

Sherwin S.W. Ho, MD

George Miz, MD

Christopher Sullivan, MD, MPH


Seenu M. Hariprasad, MD

James J. Reidy, MD

Ophthalmology Surgery

Seenu Hariprasad, MD

Otolaryngology and Facial Plastic Surgery

Nishant Agrawal, MD

Elizabeth Blair, MD

Anthony J. Geroulis, MD

Michael B. Gluth, MD

Jayant Pinto, MD

Louis de Guzman Portugal, MD

Andrea Shogan, MD


Daniel A. Arber, MD

Anthony Chang, MD

John Hart, MD


Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Michael Msall, MD

Pediatric Endocrinology

Dianne Deplewski, MD

Siri Atma W. Greeley, MD, PhD

Christine Yu, MD

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Ruba K. Azzam, MD, PhD

Timothy A. S. Sentongo, MD

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Eric C. Beyer, MD, PhD

Susan L. Cohn, MD

John Cunningham, MD

Jill de Jong, MD, PhD

Tara Henderson, MD, MPH

James LaBelle, MD, PhD

Jennifer McNeer, MD, MS

Radhika Peddinti, MD

Samuel L. Volchenboum, MD, PhD, MS

Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Barbara Hendrickson, MD

Daniel Johnson, MD

Pediatric Neurology

Carol Macmillan, MD

James H. Tonsgard, MD

Pediatric Otolaryngology

Fuad Baroody, MD

Dana L. Suskind, MD

Pediatric Psychiatry

Karam Radwan,  MD

Pediatric Rheumatology

Melissa Tesher, MD

Linda Wagner-Weiner, MD, MS

Pediatric Surgery

Nikunj J. Chokshi, MD

Jessica J. Kandel, MD

Thomas Kang-Ming Lee, MD

Grace Mak, MD

Mark Slidell, MD, MPH

Pediatric Urology

Mohan S. Gundeti, MD

Plastic Surgery

Bruce Bauer, MD

David W. Chang, MD

Lawrence J. Gottlieb, MD

Lawrence S. Zachary, MD


Jon Grant, MD

Marie Tobin, MD

Pulmonary Disease

Remzi Bag, MD

D. Kyle Hogarth, MD

John P. Kress, MD

Gokhan M. Mutlu, MD

Edward T. Naureckas, MD

Christopher Sola Olopade, MD, MPH

Julian Solway, MD

Mary E. Strek, MD

Radiation Oncology

Steven J. Chmura, MD, PhD

Philip Connell, MD

Daniel J. Haraf, MD

Yasmin Hasan, MD

Stanley Liauw, MD

Anne R. McCall, MD (Silver Cross)

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

A. Musah Zamah, MD, PhD


James J. Curran, MD

Maria Sosenko, MD


John C. Alverdy, MD

Peter Angelos, MD, PhD

Yolanda T. Becker, MD

John Fung, MD, PhD

Roger D. Hurst, MD

Nora Jaskowiak, MD

Jeffrey B. Matthews, MD

J. Michael Millis, MD

Mitchell C. Posner, MD

Kevin Roggin, MD


Juraj Letko, MD

Sandra Valaitis, MD

Urology and Urology Surgery

Gregory T. Bales, MD

Scott Eggener, MD

Arieh L. Shalhav, MD

Gregory Zagaja, MD

Vascular & Interventional Radiology

Brian Funaki, MD

Jonathan M. Lorenz, MD

Thuong Van Ha, MD

Vascular Surgery

Ross Milner, MD

Christopher Skelly, MD