The University of Chicago Medicine formally recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its nursing staff every year by presenting a number of awards at a ceremony during National Nurses Week.

These awards recognize staff nurses who:

  • Exhibit excellence in nursing practice by doing comprehensive assessments of each patient's unique needs and developing and implementing a personalized care plan to meet those needs
  • Excel at delivering family-centered care
  • Serve as a role model of professional practice for peers, new employees and students
  • Contribute positively to the professional practice environment

Mark and Nanciann Huening Award for Excellence in Medical Intensive Care Nursing

This award was established by Nanciann Huening as a loving memorial to her husband, Mark, in recognition of the compassionate and supportive care they both received throughout his critical illness. It recognizes excellence in medical intensive care nursing through excellence in patient care and through the development, education, and mentoring of student nurses, novice nurses, and/or multidisciplinary staff.

2018 Recipient: Ashley Tipner, BSN, RN, CCRN

Constance E. Staffileno Award for Excellence in Transplant Nursing Practice

The Staffileno family established this award to recognize the excellent care that Constance Staffileno received during her hospitalization, and during her return visits here as a liver transplant recipient.

2018 Recipient: Joan Schulz, MSN, RN

Patricia Morgan Award for Excellence in Oncology Nursing

The Patricia Morgan Award, established in memory of Patricia Morgan, recognizes excellence in oncology nursing practice. Patricia Morgan was a nurse who eventually succumbed to her cancer. Patricia always felt strongly that nurses should be recognized for their excellence and hard work, and her family concurs with this. The recipient of this award is an oncology nurse who exemplifies excellence in patient/family care and who is a mentor to less experienced nurses. The Morgan family started this award in 1992 in Patricia's memory, and it is presented every year during nurses' week.

2018 Recipient: Joshua Schlagel, BSN, RN

Brittany McKinney "Remember Me" Award for Excellence in Pediatric Oncology Nursing

2018 Recipients: Aileen Ballerini, BSN, RN, and Kathy Kohr, BSN, RN

James Queenan Award for Excellence in Nursing

James Queenan was a young man diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma, a malignancy of the bone and soft tissue. He received his chemotherapy treatments and supportive care at what was then the University of Chicago Children's Hospital. He unfortunately died of his disease in 1988 at the age of 22. In James's memory, his parents established an award in recognition of the wonderful care and support he and his family received from the nursing staff during his illness.

2018 Recipients: Sarah Cannon, BSN, RN, and Renee Keith, ADN, RNC-NIC

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Leadership Role

The Award for Nursing Excellence in a Leadership Role recognizes a nursing leader at the University of Chicago Medicine who:

  • Exhibits excellence in nursing practice by attaining certification in their specialty, and attending continuing education based on their specialty
  • Has developed or implemented operational improvements (unit- or hospital-based) to meet the diverse needs of patients and their families
  • Serves as a role model of professional practice for peers, new employees and students
  • Contributes to the nursing profession at large by participation in specialty nursing organizations, publishing, and presenting QI/research activities
  • Has improved retention rates, or increased recruitment of staff on their unit

2018 Recipient: Tamia Walker, BSN, RN

Award Recipients

All 2018 Nursing Award recipients were nominated by their nursing peers or their manager. Each one has demonstrated care and compassion to patients and families and exemplifies excellence in nursing practice.

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Adult Inpatient Area

2018 Recipient: Amelia Luardo, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Outpatient Area

2018 Recipient: Lauren Tinervia, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Pediatric Inpatient Area

2018 Recipient: Kelly Kean, BSN, RNC-NIC

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Specialty Role

2018 Recipient: Christine Baker, APN, CNS

Sylvia Watson Award for Excellence in Ambulatory Oncology Nursing

2018 Recipient: Buerkley Rose, BSN, RN

TORCH Team Award

2018 Recipient: Comer 6 UBC

Award for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Care

2018 Recipient: Anita Wilcoxson, PSC

Award for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Collaboration

2018 Recipient: Corey Tabit, MD, MBA, MPH