University of Chicago faculty wins AHRQ's Eisenberg Award

University of Chicago faculty wins AHRQ's Eisenberg Award

May 28, 2014

David Meltzer, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine and chief, Section of Hospital Medicine at the University of Chicago Medicine, has received the 2014 John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentoring Award by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Meltzer, a nationally recognized innovator in academic hospital medicine, health economics, health services research and public policy, is being recognized for his longstanding commitment to mentorship and dedication to the professional development of trainees as leaders in clinical care, quality improvement, and medical education.

"To see the people one has mentored thrive as scholars and as mentors is the greatest reward," Meltzer said. "Receiving the Eisenberg Award is an unexpected but wonderful honor."

The award has been presented by the AHRQ annually since 2001, in honor of Eisenberg, MD, MBA, who served as AHRQ's Director from 1997-2002.

An international leader in quality improvement, Eisenberg dedicated his professional career to the conduct and use of evidence-based research in health care decision making at the policy, practice and management levels. He was also an enthusiastic mentor with a strong ability to bring out the best in his students, encouraging them to choose careers that would utilize their skills to effect positive change in the delivery of health care.

"John Eisenberg took a special interest in my work early in my career as I know he did with the work of many young researchers," said Meltzer. "That makes it especially nice for me to receive a mentorship award that carries his name."

Meltzer will receive the award in June.