A Long Tradition of Groundbreaking Medical Research

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded annually for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, peace and, later, economics. The University of Chicago Medicine is proud to have been affiliated with 12 winners of this prestigious award.

The prize in Physiology or Medicine is given to those who, during the preceding year, "shall have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind" or who "shall have made the most important discovery within the domain of physiology or medicine."

Read more about the Nobel laureates and their accomplishments below.

All Nobel Laureate photographs on this page are copyright (c) 1999 The Nobel Foundation.

Why Choose UChicago Medicine

We are advancing the forefront of health every day by bringing research to reality and advanced care closer to our patients. Welcome to the forefront.

Two UChicago Medicine nurses celebrate Magnet recognition
Thomas Kelly and patient at OP
Two UChicago Medicine Day of Service and Reflection (DOSAR) volunteers performing gardening tasks
Vivek Prachand, MD, in surgery
South Loop family medicine physician, Cindy Iglesias, MD, smiling at her new patient, a baby
Male and female researchers working in a lab at the Comprehensive Cancer Center
Close Dialog